Texas adds TxDOT protection to Move Over/Slow Down law
Amanda Bayhi | August 9, 2013
Beginning September 1, drivers in Texas will be required to move over or slow down when approaching Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) workers and vehicles that are stopped with overhead flashing blue or amber lights.
That’s because the state has expanded its Move Over/Slow Down law to provide protection to TxDOT workers. The law traditionally requires drivers to yield to police, fire and emergency vehicles.
With the new protections, drivers approaching TxDOT workers or vehicles will have to move out of the lane closest to the workers and vehicles when possible or reduce their speed to 20 mph below the posted speed limit. When multiple lanes are not available drivers must reduce their speed. When the posted limit is 25 mph or less, drivers are required to reduce their speed to 5 mph.
Drivers who violate the Move Over/Slow Down law can be fined up to $2,000.
MORE FROM News & Analysis
- Congress passes spending bill; cuts billions from federal construction accounts558 Views
- Maintaining America’s most historic tourist routes546 Views
- Tappan Zee bridge construction shut down after silos collapse491 Views
- Last second Christmas gift ideas for highway and bridge construction workers141 Views
- With no plans to raise gas tax, Alabama will rely on 2015 bond issue for road projects75 Views